Posted in Personal

dont be a stranger in your own life

I am not sure where I heard that or if it came to me in a dream, one where Walt Whitman was comforting me through a hard time but it has become a motto of sorts and coined by me often.

When I was a teen, I would meet with my best like minded (that is code for ‘Odd Ducks’) girlfriends’ @ the end of the summer break and we would discuss just who we wanted to be that year. It seems strange right? but the more I think about it, the more I admire those strange plucky girls for their innocent yet inspired insight. Instead of letting others or what seemed cool or popular define them, they turned to each other in the confidence that there is strength in ‘odd’ numbers.

I am feeling like that girl lately, searching for a new definition. I am sure it is due to the fact we are on the verge of a new year, a new decade and I had a big birthday and a heartbreaking loss. I have felt this before as an adult and I made drastic leaps and changes that needed to happen. This time I will turn back instead of forward and see those with whom my trust and love lies solid and ask them to help me see the new me.

Author:

I am a GeekMom, a Superhero * Hygena from Season 2 of Who Wants to be a Superhero * and I run a Group called Geeklings and Parental Units . My hobbies include giving a voice to Dee the Thief in an online animated DnD series * The Perturbed Dragon* I like coffee and Star Wars

Leave a Reply

